Win Today

Indiana Hoosiers Football



Indiana Hoosiers Football established. Yale Professor Arthur B. Woodford came to Indiana to teach political and social science and during the next year he introduced football to the school. Woodford coached the Hoosiers from 1887 to 1888.


The football program joined the Big Ten, then known as the "Western Conference."


The original Memorial Stadium opened. The 20,000 seat stadium replaced Jordan Field which had served as the home field for the program since 1887.


The Hoosiers won their first outright Big Ten Championship under Coach Bo McMillin, finishing the season unbeaten with a record of 9-0-1. The achievement earned Coach McMillan the title of "Man of the Year" by the Football Writers Association, and "Coach of the Year" by the Football Coaches Association.


IU Quarterback, George Taliaferro, helped break down color barriers in sports by becoming the first African-American to be drafted, when the Chicago Bears selected him in the 13th round of the 1949 NFL Draft.


The new Memorial Stadium opened as part of a new athletics area at the university with a capacity of 52,929. It replaced the original Memorial Stadium, built in 1925, a 20,000-seat stadium located on 10th Street where the arboretum now stands.


The Hoosiers won their second Big Ten Conference Championship, finishing the season with a 9-2 record. The championship earned them an invitation to the 1968 Rose Bowl.


Facing a OJ Simpson-led Southern California squad, the Hoosiers were defeated in the 1968 Rose Bowl by a score of 14-3. The Trojans went on to be named national champions.


Head Coach Bill Mallory became the first Big Ten coach to be awarded back-to-back coach of the year honors when the Hoosiers finished second-place in the conference, with wins over Ohio State and Michigan, and a Peach Bowl appearance against Tennessee.


Led by future NFL quarterback Trent Green, the Hoosiers dominated a highly regarded Baylor team in the Copper Bowl; winning 24-0.The victory was one of the most impressive performances by any team during the 1991 bowl season. Indiana finished the 1993 season with an 8–4 record.


Kevin Wilson hired as head coach. Wilson previously served as the offensive coordinator at Oklahoma, where he won the Broyles Award; which is given to the top assistant in college football annually.


The Hoosiers offense set single-season program records with 6,102 total yards, 508.5 total yards per game, 461 points, 38.4 points per game, 36 passing touchdowns, 62 total touchdowns and 300 first downs.


Under Head Coach Kevin Wilson, the offense has set 22 school records, including points, total yardage and passing yardage in a single season.

Player Recognition

One season after boasting nine All- Big Ten honorees, IU produced seven more in 2013. The 16 honorees mark the most for Indiana in a two-year span since 18 combined in 2000 (6) and 2001 (12).

Academic Success

The football program set a school record with 26 Academic All-Big Ten recipients in 2013. Along with 24 honorees in 2011 and 22 in 2012, the program set a three-year school mark with 72 award winners in head coach Kevin Wilson's Era.

Freshman Impact

Eight Hoosiers earned All-Big Ten freshman recognition in 2013, including All-America selections Jacob Bailey (offensive lineman), Ralph Green III (defensive tackle) and T.J. Simmons (linebacker).

NFL Pipeline

Over 160 Hoosiers have been drafted into the NFL, including notable players such as Antwaan Randle El, Anthony Thompson, and Tracy Porter.


The Hoosiers are outfitted with some of the most innovative uniform designs in college football, utilizing multiple helmet and jersey combinations each week. The uniforms are cutting-edge, yet still pay tribute to the traditional Hoosier look.


The Old Brass Spittoon has been awarded to the winner of the Indiana-Michigan State football game since the trophy's inception in 1950. The trophy was initiated by the junior and senior classes and student council at Michigan State and was quickly accepted by the Indiana Student Senate. The spittoon came from one of Michigan's earliest trading posts and is widely believed to be nearly 200 years old. Legend holds that the spittoon was around when both institutions were founded. Indiana and Michigan State have faced each other since 1922 and the trophy became a part of the series 28 years after the first meeting.


The symbol of football supremacy between Indiana and Purdue, the Old Oaken Bucket, has become one of the nation's most recognized and famed trophies in its 89 years of spirited rivalry. Both institutions had been meeting on the football field since 1891 when the Indiana and Purdue Alumni Clubs of Chicago held a joint meeting in 1925 to "discuss the possibility of undertaking a worthy joint enterprise on behalf of the two schools." At a later meeting they recommended that the school winning the traditional football game each year should have possession of the ‘Old Oaken Bucket' until the next game and should attach the block letter representing the winning school to the bail with the score engraved on the latter link." The 175 year old bucket made it's initial appearance in 1925, a game that ended in a 0-0 tie.